Waste Levy waived for flood affected areas

The NSW Government has waived the waste levy fee for residents disposing of flood generated waste in areas across NSW that have been declared Natural Disaster Areas.

EPA Executive Director Regulatory Operations Steve Beaman said thousands of people in northern NSW are reeling from the effects of the floods impacting their communities.

“Where the emergency has passed in some areas, residents will face a hard and painful clean-up process,” Mr Beaman said.

“To help these communities dispose of their flood damaged goods quickly and safely we have waived the NSW Government waste levy, in levy-affected areas.

“Building materials, furniture and any other flood generated waste is included and will apply to waste on public and private land.

“We know that the effects of these floods will be felt for months to come, and we hope that this streamlined waste process can provide a little relief for those coping after these rains.”

The exemption applies from 10 March 2021 through to 30 June 2021 on debris and waste created by local flooding. Extensions will be granted upon request to 30 September 2021.

The levy will be waived at waste facilities nominated by the councils listed below and local waste facility gate fees may still apply.

Residents should check with their local council for the name and opening status of the nominated facilities, as well as for any specific requirements to dispose of flood damaged waste, noting that flood affected conditions can change rapidly.

Waste facilities will need to ensure the waste is flood generated before they can waive the Government’s waste levy.

“We hope this will ease some of the pressure people are feeling after the floods,” Mr Beaman said.

Council areas where the waste levy has been waived: Cessnock City Council, Clarence Valley, Coffs Harbour City, Central Coast, Bellingen, Dungog Shire, Kempsey, Lake Macquarie City, Maitland City, Mid-Coast, Nambucca Valley, Newcastle City, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Port Stephens, Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Camden, Campbelltown, Canterbury Bankstown, Cumberland,  Fairfield, Hawkesbury, Hornsby, Inner West, Ku-ring-gai, Liverpool, Northern Beaches, Parramatta, Penrith, Sutherland, The Hills, Wollondilly, Byron, Kyogle, Lismore, Richmond Valley, Tweed and Wingecaribee

Council areas where the waste levy does not apply, but where residents may use a nearby facility in an area where they levy has been waived: Armidale, Tenterfield, Bathurst, Bega Valley, Eurobodalla, Glen Innes Severn, Gwydir, Inverell and Moree Plains.

See EPA NSW website

This entry was posted in and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.